top of page
  • Writer's pictureBABYCEALION

CLOSET CONFIDENTIALS: GABBY

HIGHLIGHTING THE ART OF GETTING READY IN ALL ITS FORMS

AN INTERVIEW SERIES

 


PHOTOGRAPHY BY CÉLINE BLAIS

CLOSET CONFIDENTIALS is an interview series

dedicated to highlighting the art of getting ready,

through the stories of some badass individuals,

in all of its shapes & forms.


This entry follows the tale of GABBY BLAIS, a young lawyer-to-be from Edmonton, Alberta, with a passionate mind, a successfully abundant walk-in closet & the one I share the title of middle-child with in our crazy household.






So what if I like to spend my money on clothes & shoes? That's what makes me happy!


PERSONAL STYLE


Q: HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONAL STYLE?

GABBY: Essentially, I like to wear clothes that look nice. I like to wear clothes that are trendy but not too trendy, clothes that make me look professional when I'm at work & put together the rest of the time. I know what I like but I'm not too sure what my style actually is. I think it changes depending on what I'm doing, who I'm hanging out with, that type of thing. For work, I have to keep it quite professional. Although, this past year or so, I've been trying new things with my work wardrobe & having some fun switching things up with different pieces like oversized blazers, bold shoes & funky pants.



Q: WHAT DOES YOUR STYLE SAY ABOUT YOU?

G: As bad as it sounds...I think I'm a bit of a brand whore. I wear a lot of Lululemon, I buy a lot from Aritzia, I have a couple purses from Michael Kors, I have an Apple watch...I just have a lot of brand name items & I like to be able to afford these types of things. I'm proud of where I'm at & have worked really hard to get here. So what if I like to spend my money on clothes & shoes? That's what makes me happy!



Q: WHAT ASPECT OF FASHION EXCITES YOU THE MOST? G: I just love clothes & shoes - IDK. But I would totally love to, one day, wear some couture or really expensive shit! I'd like to be in a place where I could just wear those high end pieces because I can, ya know!



Q: FOR YOU PERSONALLY, WHAT FINAL DETAIL CAN MAKE OR BREAK A LOOK?

G: The wrong pair of shoes. There's nothing worse than wearing a bomb ass outfit & not having the proper footwear to go with it. I think that's honestly what started this shoe obsession of mine - I felt the need to have a lot of different options for different looks.




I love a fresh face of makeup in the morning, because it's probably the best I will look all day!


THE PROCESS


Q: WHAT DRIVES YOU TO GET READY?

GABBY: I always have something to do or somewhere to go. I'm a very busy person! I have work or school or errands to run. Although some days I won't wear any makeup or put too much effort in what I'm wearing, I definitely feel better & more energized when I'm showered, clean & put together. If I just stay in my sweatpants all day, I notice I'm less efficient & not as prepared to take on the day.


Q: WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE PART OF YOUR GETTING READY PROCESS?

G: When it's done! When my makeup is fresh & I'm feeling good in what I'm wearing, I find that's my favourite part. I also love putting on my setting spray. It locks in place my fresh face of flawless makeup, that I probably spent a lot of time on, & it's definitely the best it will look all day! Mastered makeup can take on anything.


Q: DOES THIS PROCESS AFFECT HOW YOU PRESENT YOURSELF TO THE WORLD?

G: Yes, it absolutely does. If I even skip a step, I feel like I'm not at my best - not at my 100%. I'm definitely more confident when I'm put together, when my makeup is on point, when my hair is done or when I feel good about how I look. I feel a lot better about my day & about myself. I tend to be less outgoing & social if I'm having a bad hair or makeup day or if I don't take the time to get ready properly.






If my house is on fire, I would definitely be grabbing my favourite pieces of clothing!


THE CLOSET


Q: WHAT ITEM CAN YOU NEVER LEAVE THE HOUSE WITHOUT?

GABBY: My purse, yeah! It has my wallet, my lip balm, my hand sanitizer, my tissues, my sunglasses, my prescription sunglasses, my regular glasses...it holds EVERYTHING. It's like a cute Michael Kors x Mary Poppins bag.


Q: WHAT ARE YOUR FAVOURITE ITEMS IN YOUR CLOSET?

G: Right now, it would have to be my sage green oversized blazer, my light teal ganna jacket from Aritzia, & this white 3/4 sleeve top with blue polka dots on it! I do get quite sentimental over my clothes & the items that I have accumulated over the years. When I was younger, my aunt once asked my cousin & I what important things would we grab if our house ever caught fire, & I remember saying "my green Lululemon pants!" To me they were so important! They don't make that style of pant anymore but I still wear & love them to this day. So yeah, if my house is on fire, I would definitely be grabbing my favourite pieces of clothing!


Q: HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT SHARING YOUR CLOTHES?

G: I do share my clothes sometimes, but I have to make sure that I don't feel too attached to them. Honestly, I don't really have anyone asking to borrow my clothes, now that I live with my fiancé Jamie. Back when I lived with my sister Dani, however, we would often share our things. I definitely made sure these items weren't my all time favourite pieces, when lending her my clothes. I'm so protective of my shoes & some of my favourite items that I can get a little possessive. This definitely caused some issues growing up with three sisters!






CONFIDENTIAL


Q: WHEN DO YOU FEEL THE MOST YOURSELF?

GABBY: I feel the most myself when I'm at home or when I'm with friends who give me energy. I'm an extrovert so I get my energy from being around certain kinds of people. I'm still learning that it's not everyone who can do that for me. When I'm around a close group of friends, or hanging out with a good girlfriend, or when Jamie & I go on a date night, that's when I'm at my happiest! Even when I'm hanging out with family, or when things are going well between all of us & were having a good time, that will energize me too.


Q: WHEN DO YOU FEEL THE MOST BEAUTIFUL?

G: When I'm all done-up for weddings! I love wedding season because I love to go all out. Last summer we attended a lot of weddings & I just loved having the chance to get all dressed up! I had a different look for every single one, Dani did my makeup for most of them & I even got my hair done professionally a couple of times. I don't always have the opportunity to dress up extravagantly in my day to day, so weddings are my chance to go all out & feel gorgeous! I'm honestly really looking forward to my wedding! I keep changing my mind on what I want to do, but I know that whatever I decide it will be great. I don't even have a dress yet, but I definitely felt like a million bucks the first time I tried one on. That was probably one of the coolest experiences ever! I wasn't even done up - no makeup, no nothing - yet I felt truly beautiful.



THANK YOU GABBY FOR SHARING YOUR CLOSET WITH LION|OF|THE|CEA!

XX


 

PHOTOGRAPHY: CÉLINE BLAIS @babycealion


MODEL + STYLING: GABBY BLAIS @_gabbyblehh


87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page