top of page
  • Writer's pictureBABYCEALION

CLOSET CONFIDENTIALS: ELYSE

Updated: Sep 9, 2020

HIGHLIGHTING THE ART OF GETTING READY IN ALL ITS FORMS

AN INTERVIEW SERIES

 
PHOTOGRAPHY BY CÉLINE BLAIS


CLOSET CONFIDENTIALS is an interview series

dedicated to highlighting the art of getting ready,

through the stories of some badass individuals,

in all of its shapes & forms.

This entry follows the tale of ELYSE BLAIS, the eldest of the four Blais girls & the best mom to our precious little Ava! This hotshot momma can rock anything from a smoking hot dress to funky yoga attire, all while sporting an adorable one year old on her hip & running her very own interior design company, EB & CO Designs.





As far as my style is concerned, I'm not too sure what it says about me other than "new mom!"


PERSONAL STYLE


Q: HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONAL STYLE?

ELYSE: I find that my style is ever evolving. Now more than ever, my personal style has been about efficiency & comfort. There's a part of me that wants it to be a little more intentional & put together, like I didn't just find what was clean & throw it on, which tends to be more of my reality right now. Most days, it's all about what I can throw on quickly, especially if I have a small window of time & must rush out the door! If I do have the time, I like to be more thoughtful about what I wear & how I get ready. As my toddler gets older, I'd love to play with more accessories. But for now, i find that hats are a great way for me to feel a little put together even when I'm all over the place!


Q: WHAT DOES YOUR STYLE SAY ABOUT YOU?

E: The crazy thing about clothes & appearances is the fact that it's the first thing people see. So whether you like it or not, it reflects what you do or don't care about or what you choose to prioritize, & these things affect how people perceive & judge you. It's really that first impression. As far as my style is concerned, I'm not too sure what it says about me other than "new mom!" At the moment, I'm definitely not focusing as much on myself as I would like. When you're so focused on your child or somebody else, it's really easy to let your own needs slide. I find myself putting more attention on my makeup & looking more refreshed in my face than in my clothes.



Q: WHAT ASPECT OF FASHION EXCITES YOU THE MOST? E: I love thinking of fashion as another method of communication. It allows us to express parts of ourselves & our feelings without necessarily using any words. You can honestly use your clothes to speak. You can walk into a room & command a certain level of presence, attention or focus just by wearing something that gives you confidence.



Q: FOR YOU PERSONALLY, WHAT FINAL DETAIL CAN MAKE OR BREAK A LOOK?

E: For me, it would have to be accessories! I've really found a liking to hats recently & I think that's because it's such an easy accessory to add to any outfit. It isn't much but it speaks volumes. I find that when I go out with my daughter while wearing a fun accessory or a cute hat, I'll get more compliments on what I'm wearing or even the diaper bag that I have hanging from my arm. It's crazy how something as simple as a hat can make me seem so put together.







Sometimes ya gotta just go & be seen in whatever state you're in!


THE PROCESS


Q: WHAT DRIVES YOU TO GET READY?

ELYSE: Oh boy...whether or not I leave the house! Which isn't always the best motivation as you never know if you'll need to go out at some point during the day, but it's all I got right now. Sometimes it's a mental need. It's taking some time to put a little makeup on, taking a hot shower, or putting something on that makes me feel like I've pulled myself together & set myself up for whatever lies ahead. Usually, whether or not I leave the house is a huge factor in getting myself ready & being intentional about my routine. If I don't plan on going out in public but end up doing so later in the day, there's a good chance I won't get ready fully. Sometimes ya gotta just go & be seen in whatever state you're in!


Q: WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE PART OF YOUR GETTING READY PROCESS?

E: My favourite part of getting ready definitely varies from day to day. I find that, pretty consistently, it will be the time that I take for myself. That could be taking a long hot shower, or taking the time to let my conditioner set in, shaving my legs or even spending a full half-hour plucking my eyebrows! Whatever it is, I find it to be very meditative & a great source of relaxation. Whether or not it shows at the end of it does not matter in the least to me. The important part is that I'm taking time for myself! That is truly what I look forward to the most when getting ready.


Q: DOES THIS PROCESS AFFECT HOW YOU PRESENT YOURSELF TO THE WORLD?

E: Yes & no. I think I've come a long way in the sense that it doesn't really affect me as much as it has in the past. I used to be very self conscious about being in public places without feeling put together, having any makeup on or having my hair done. I'd like to think now that my appearance doesn't affect how I present myself to others. But that being said, I have noticed, unfortunately, that I am treated differently if I appear more "put together" versus looking tired or any other way. Say I leave the house with just basic face makeup on, I will get a different reaction than if I were bare faced. Even if I'm behaving as my usual friendly, approachable, outgoing & conversationalist self, I get more positive responses if I look like I've put in more effort. That extra layer of perceived "effort" comes off as me now being a "normal" & "safe" person to talk to, instead of a crazy person walking around Walmart in their pyjamas. It's not necessarily fair but it is what it is. The fact that I notice a difference of how people treat me with or without makeup says a lot about our society.



Q: HOW DO YOU CHOOSE TO SHOW SELF-CARE? E: I feel like it's been so long since I've had a self care day or done some sort of pampering for myself. I do try to put more attention on my mental health on a regular basis. This includes things like reading something thought provoking, educational or interesting at least once a day, instead of just filling myself with brain-junk-food. But as far as relaxing & taking care of my body, I love my baths. For me, self care is spending an hour by myself, in the tub, with some epsom salts or a bath-bomb, candles, dim lights...that's the dream right now.





THE CLOSET


Q: WHAT ITEM CAN YOU NEVER LEAVE THE HOUSE WITHOUT?

ELYSE: My child! She's not really an item or accessory, but if I leave the house without her, while she's in my care, there's definitely a problem! But quite honestly, if there's anything I can't leave the house without it's the diaper bag. It's just a part of my reality right now. If I don't have the diaper bag with me at all times, that will be the day that I need it the most! I literally can't leave the house without it but it's surely more for practicality than preference. As usual, I like to rock the diaper bag with my black floppy hat. I may be wiping behinds, but I can sure look cute while doing it!


Q: WHAT ARE YOUR FAVOURITE ITEMS IN YOUR CLOSET?

E: I really love anything high-waisted. Depending on the season, I'll wear a lot of high-waisted pants or shorts. My favourite pair at the moment would have to be my black high-waisted Guess jeans that were gifted to me. I'll usually pair this with an oversized T-shirt, whether it's from my closet or my fiancé Bruce's. I'm always down to steal his clothes & my favourite shirt is actually one of his "Passenger" band T-shirts! I also love a classic jean or leather jacket. This look is always complete with my famous black floppy hat. Due to the fact that I can't seem to shut up about it, I would have to say that it's one of my favourites!


Q: HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT SHARING YOUR CLOTHES?

E: I have absolutely no problem sharing my clothes. My closet is an open door! I believe that sharing clothes can be an expansion of your own closet. My sisters on the other hand don't always agree with me. The idea of having more than one closet to choose from is thrilling & exciting to me. It can definitely allow me to try things that are outside of my comfort zone or that I normally wouldn't buy. It's a fun way to experiment with my style by trying on pieces from other wardrobes. Throughout the years, & after many attempts of stealing from my sister's closets, I've definitely learnt the value of healthy communication when it comes to borrowing clothes from other people & respecting boundaries.





If I can just be comfortable being me, I walk away feeling so much more energized.


CONFIDENTIAL


Q: WHEN DO YOU FEEL THE MOST YOURSELF?

ELYSE: I feel the most myself when I'm not worried about if I'm being myself. If I'm in an environment where I'm comfortable, confident in my abilities or surrounded by familiar faces like my family or friends, I'm not wasting my energy worrying about what other's might think of me. I don't want to care if I look like a hot mess, or if I'm being too loud or too weird. When I'm not constantly worried about how I'm being perceived, I find I can truly just sink into the person that I am & relax. If I can just be comfortable being me, I walk away feeling so much more energized.


Q: WHEN DO YOU FEEL THE MOST BEAUTIFUL?

E: I feel the most beautiful when Bruce tells me that I look beautiful. I also appreciate when that kind of compliment comes from someone pleasantly unexpected. I received a cute compliment from Bruce's dad about how pretty I look with no makeup on & in that moment I sincerely heard what was coming from his heart. If I wore makeup because I actually enjoyed doing it, I probably would have just brushed off that kind of comment & continued wearing it as I like. But it's this kind of comment that has made me reflect on why I actually wear it. For so long, my relationship with makeup has been a way of fitting in & pleasing others instead of myself. With time, that's shifted. There's been a lot of growth in my self-love these past few years & I think it's reflected in how I get ready.



THANK YOU ELYSE FOR SHARING YOUR CLOSET WITH LION|OF|THE|CEA!

XX


 

PHOTOGRAPHY: CÉLINE BLAIS @babycealion


MODEL + STYLING: ELYSE BLAIS @elysenotelsee

Check out her interior design company >>> EB & CO DESIGNS


82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page